History of Wayanad Police

Wayanad Revenue District was formed on 01/11/1980 as per G.O(MS) 1128/80 RD dated 27.08.1980 comprising the south Wayanad Taluk of erstwhile Kozhikode District and North Wayanad Taluk ( Except Kottiyoor and Kelakam area) Taluks were recognized in to 3 Taluks viz Vythiri,Sulthan Bathery, Mananthavady. The territorial areas of the district is 2131 Sq Kms Wayanad District Police office started functioning with effect from 01/11/1980 as per G.O(MS) No. 1237/80/RD dated 26/09/1980. As per 2011 censes the population in Wayanad District is 8,16558 (male 401314 and female 415244) Wayanad Police District includes 17 Police Stations and 3 Sub Divisions.



Last updated on Monday 25th of April 2022 PM